If you practice Kosher principles, or even if you do not, you’re going to love this, read on and get ready to dig into some delectable SoCal slices!
For the uninitiated who are scratching their heads with a befuddled look on their faces, let us give you a quick and brief overview of what Kosher is. Most people associate a lack of pork products with Kosher-eating and this is a correct fact; don’t expect to find any Hawaiian slices at your Kosher pizza joint! In addition to a pork-free life, Kosher certified foods cannot mix dairy and meat so that means you’ve got to pick just one type of or meat or cheese topping for your Kosher pie. Rennet must be present in order for a cheese to be considered Kosher, and the dough must sometimes follow kemach yashan (especially important in Israel, less so here in the States). Overall, for anything to considered Kosher the food must be prepared according to the requirements of Jewish law. Something worth researching if you are interested as this brief explanation does the full definition no justice.
Now that you understand a bit more about what is and what may not be Kosher when it comes to pizza, let’s get down to the good stuff: where to find a supreme slice that you can share with your Rabbi.